POV: You’re Getting Ready For Class In 2002 (a y2k look guide for school)

photos by Emily Wideman.

About the Outfit

The look I was going for was a comfortable y2k outfit with a touch of pink for some on-campus learning! When I’m getting ready for class, the most important thing I keep in mind is what is going to make me feel comfortable and most like myself. That is why I chose to wear a styled track suit with some sunglasses to achieve this look. The clothes I’m wearing are:

The simple staples will help build your closet and many other looks to come. For class, there’s no reason to go the extra mile when getting ready BUT it’s always important to feel confident no matter the occasion. I believe this look is the perfect example of how to add a y2k vibe to your learning environment.

The Hair

Processed with VSCO with c6 preset, photo by Emily Wideman

For the hairstyle I wanted to keep it simple, but I also wanted it to be fun/cute. I decided on doing an easy up-do. The claw clip look is staple to y2k fashion. It’s low effort yet effective energy is something that is perfect for school. Here’s how to achieve it:

  • Step One: Part your hair down the middle.
  • Step Two: bring your hair into a low ponytail.
  • Step Three: Twist the ponytail, bringing it up into a french twist.
  • Step Four: Secure with a claw clip.

It may take a few tries but once you have it down, it is a quick and easy way to always make your hair look ready for the day! However, if you are searching for a more elaborate style to up the look of the outfit, this tutorial gives you an undeniably adorable style that matches the vibe of y2k.

The Make-Up

Photo by Emily Wideman

Once again, I tried to keep the makeup look as simple as the outfit itself. When I wake up for my 8am, the last thing I want to do is spend 30 minutes putting on my makeup. That’s why I made this look be capable of being done in about 10 minutes tops! Here’s how to achieve it:

  • A little concealer goes a long way. Put a small amount under your eyes and on your blemishes and then blend with a beauty blender.
  • Next step is powder, lightly set your face.
  • After, use a small amount of bronzer and blush to give yourself a nice glow.
  • For the eyes: use an eyeliner pencil on your waterline and then apply mascara.
  • Finally: use a pink sparkly lip gloss!

And…..Viola! You’re all ready to make a y2k statement at school.

Quick Reminder

You may not be entirely comfortable wearing this exact outfit out… but the great news is that you can make it entirely your own! Remember to have fun and find what y2k aspects make you feel the most like yourself! This is a leaping off point to explore more y2k styles 🙂 love you!

xoxo, Emily ❤

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started